Skip to content
See all Press

Boyd Smith Elected to Board of Children’s Health Foundation

PALO ALTO – Boyd Smith, founding partner at WSJ Associates, a real estate management firm based in Palo Alto, has been elected to a three-year term on the board of directors of the Lucile Packard Foundation for Children’s Health.

Smith, a resident of Palo Alto since 1956, devotes much of his time to community service. Formerly chairman of the board of both the YMCA of the Mid-Peninsula and the Senior Coordinating Council, Smith was also a director of the Palo Alto Chamber of Commerce. Currently, he serves on the boards of the Community Foundation Silicon Valley and the Children’s Health Council. He is also on the Board of Overseers of the Hoover Institution.

Together with his wife, Jill Johnson Smith, and the Wheatley and Jacobsen families, Smith co-founded the California Family Foundation in September 1984. A major project of the foundation has been to fund the Beechwood School, which serves 160 students from East Palo Alto and the Belle Haven area of Menlo Park.

Smith earned his B.S. in Economics at the University of Utah and his M.B.A. from Stanford University. The Smiths are the parents of five children and grandparents of four.

The Lucile Packard Foundation for Children’s Health was established in 1996 as an independent public charity to promote and protect the health of children. The foundation raises funds for Lucile Packard Children’s Hospital and the pediatric programs at the Stanford School of Medicine. The foundation also makes grants to community organizations that promote the health and well being of children in San Mateo and Santa Clara counties, and disseminates information on children’s health issues.

Other foundation board members are Anne T. Bass; Robert L. Black, M.D.; Martha S. Campbell; Roger A. Clay Jr.; Price M. Cobbs, M.D.; LaDoris Cordell; J. Taylor Crandall; John M. Driscoll, M.D.; Bruce Dunlevie; the Hon. Liz Figueroa; Laurence R. Hoagland Jr.; Irene M. Ibarra; Matt James; Susan Liautaud; William F. Nichols; Susan P. Orr; George Pavlov; Stephen Peeps; Russell Siegelman; Karen Sutherland; Mike Ullman and Alan A. Watahara.