Skip to content

The National Standards for Systems of Care for Children and Youth with Special Health Care Needs (CYSHCN) define the core components of a comprehensive, coordinated, and family-centered system of care for CYSHCN. These one-pagers highlight the five most utilized National Standards domains, including identification and assessment, access to care, transition to adult care, medical homes, and community-based services and supports. The downloadable one-pagers include the standards language, relevant quality measures, and examples of state implementation:

  • System Domain 1: Identification, Screening, Assessment, and Referral
  • System Domain 3: Access to Care
  • System Domain 4: Medical Home
  • System Domain 5: Community-Based Services and Supports
  • System Domain 6: Transition to Adulthood

Related Grants

In the past, the health care needs of children with chronic and complex conditions have been met variously in terms of access and quality, and...